WE NEED YOUR HELP!  PLEASE ACT NOW!

Dear Friends:

As a result of huge across the board budget cuts to ten Community Based Organizations (CBOs) by the DC Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD), Housing Counseling Services (HCS) has been forced to significantly reduce our housing support services.  As a result of these cuts (Initially a cut of $500,000, but recently proposed at $350,000), HCS is unable to maintain the same level of services that we have in the past.  We therefore ask for your patience and we apologize in advance for any delays you may experience in accessing housing supports…AND WE NEED YOUR HELP!

Learn more https://www.washingtoncitypaper.com/news/housing-complex/article/21025078/dhcd-makes-acrosstheboard-budget-cuts-to-housing-counseling-providers

As a result of these budget cuts, as of October 1, 2018 HCS has reduced the number of workshops, training classes, orientations and individual counseling.  This means that services such as:  Pre-purchase Orientations (PPO), HPAP and EAHP application appointments, Inclusionary Zoning Orientations and services to tenants who are facing displacement have been significantly reduced.   We have also reduced the number of Housing Search and Credit Clinics which help individuals to access better housing opportunities.   While we are thankful for the significant support we still receive from DHCD, this huge budget cut will result in long delays in accessing our popular services and will make it impossible to ensure that everyone will have access.

Here’s where you come in…Let your voice be heard!

THIS WEEK, and before it’s too late, speak up about how the loss of these housing support services will impact you and others by contacting the Mayor and Councilmembers. Tell them how these services have helped you and why you believe these services are important.  The more people they hear from, the more they will learn…..Please email or call the Mayor and Councilmembers THIS WEEK to tell them your own story or simply tell them (feel free to simply cut and paste):

It is my belief that comprehensive housing policy includes support for the development of affordable housing units AND the housing support services that individuals need to access good housing.  I believe that one without the other will fail. Therefore, I urge the Mayor and the Council to work jointly to fully fund the CBOs so that tenants, homebuyers, homeowners and the homeless can access these important housing support services.”

Sincerely,

Marian Siegel

Executive Director HCS

mariansiegel@housingetc.org

 

HERE’s where to send your emails!

Muriel Bowser, Mayor of DC,   eom@dc.gov    (202) 724-8052

Council Chairman Phil Mendelson: pmendelson@dccouncil.us    (202) 724-8032

SEND YOUR MESSAGE TO EVERYONE!

At Large Councilmember, Anita Bonds: abonds@dccouncil.us    (202) 724-8064

At Large Councilmember, David Grosso: dgrosso@dccouncil.us   (202) 724-8105

At Large Councilmember, Elissa Silverman, esilverman@dccouncil.us    (202) 724-7772

At Large Councilmember, Robert White, Jr., rwhite@dccouncil.us     (202) 724-8174

Ward 1 Councilmember, Brianne Nadeau, bnadeau@dccouncil.us    (202) 724-8181

Ward 2 Councilmember, Jack Evans, jevans@dccouncil.us    (202) 724-8058

Ward 3 Councilmember, Mary Cheh, mcheh@dccouncil.us     (202) 724-8062

Ward 4 Councilmember, Brandon Todd, btodd@dccouncil.us    (202) 724-8052

Ward 5 Councilmember, Kenyan McDuffie,    bmcduffie@dccouncil.us    (202) 724-8028

Ward 6 Councilmember, Charles Allen, callen@dccouncil.us    (202)724-8072

Ward 7 Councilmember, Vincent Gray, vgray@dccouncil.us    (202) 724-8068

Ward 8 Councilmember, Trayon White, Sr., twhite@dccouncil.us     (202) 724-8045

Polly Donaldson, Director, DHCD, polly.donaldson@dc.gov (202) 442-7200